What’s in the nomination papers for the 96 candidates in the 2018 Wirral Council elections?

What’s in the nomination papers for the 96 candidates in the 2018 Wirral Council elections?

Holy Cross primary school Bidston polling station Bidston St James 4th May 2017 resized

What’s in the nomination papers for the 96 candidates in the 2018 Wirral Council elections?


Holy Cross primary school Bidston polling station Bidston St James 4th May 2017 resized
Holy Cross primary school Bidston polling station Bidston St James 4th May 2017 resized

I’ll declare at the start that myself as author, along with my wife live in Bidston & St James ward and we will both receive a vote in this election. We’re also both accredited election observers for the period of this election.

People living and registered to vote at polling stations for local council elections in all areas of the Wirral will have a chance to vote for who their local councillor will be on Thursday 3rd May 2018. All wards will be electing one councillor, except for Hoylake and Meols where voters will be electing two councillors due to the recent resignation of John Hale.

The list of candidates was published by Wirral Council recently.

Candidates are listed below this blog post by the ward they are standing in (the list of wards is sorted alphabetically) and then alphabetically by their surname (which is the order in which they will appear on ballot papers).

Last year you may remember that Wirral Council’s Chief Executive Eric Robinson in his capacity as Returning Officer turned down our applications to cover the Claughton byelection count and Metro Mayor count held in Bidston in May 2017 as press very shortly after I criticised Liverpool City Council’s former Returning Officer Ged Fitzgerald for blocking a request to inspect the Metro Mayor candidates’ nomination papers.

It is Eric Robinson’s legal responsibility this year as Returning Officer to ensure certain key election documents are published by set deadlines such as the Notice of Poll.

The Notice of Poll was supposed to be published on Wirral Council’s website by the end of the 25th April 2018. However it wasn’t published by the 25th April 2018 and when I checked the website on the 26th April 2018 it also wasn’t published. After I flagged this up someone else at Wirral Council (not Eric Robinson), it was published later on the 26th April 2018.

By way of comparison, Liverpool City Council had their Notice of Poll published by the 23rd April 2018.

Below is the list of candidates linked to the nomination papers, candidate’s consent to nomination, agent appointment form and emblem form. If you wish to contact any of the candidates, their address is on the Statement of Persons Nominated or the agent appointment forms often contain email addresses and telephone numbers.

Bebington ward

Chris Britton (Liberal Democrats)
Tony Cottier (Labour)
Des Drury (Conservative)
Rachel Heydon (Green)

Bidston & St James ward

Liz Grey (Labour)
Nick Hanna (Conservative)
Jaimie Parkhouse (Green)
Michael John Tanner Parsons (Liberal Democrat)
Warwick Roberts (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)

Birkenhead & Tranmere

Pat Cleary (Green)
June Irene Cowin (Conservative)
Paul Charles Jobson (Labour)


Susan Margaret Braddock (Green)
Vicky Downie (Liberal Democrats)
Peter Taylor (Conservative)
Irene Rose Williams (Labour)


Mary Jordan (Conservative)
Jim McGinley (Green)
Giuseppe Mark Roberto (Labour)
Colin William Thompson (Liberal Democrat)


Suzanne Clare Downward (Conservative)
David Robert Cynlais Evans (Liberal Democrat)
Liz Heydon (Green)
Gillian Wood (Labour)


Jo Bird (Labour and Co-operative Party)
Chris Carubia (Liberal Democrats)
Allan Stanley Guy (Conservative)
Percy Hogg (Green)

Greasby, Frankby & Irby

Wendy Jane Clements (Conservative)
Andy Corkhill (Liberal Democrat)
Cathy Page (Green)
Katherine Louise Stuart (Labour)


Barbara Florence Burton (Green)
Les Rowlands (Conservative)
Robert Noel Thompson (Liberal Democrat)
Christine Ann Trenery (Labour)

Hoylake & Meols

Alexander William John Clark (Liberal Democrat)
Alix Rowena Cockcroft (Green)
Tony Cox (Conservative)
Matthew James Daniel (Labour)
Andrew Mark Gardner (Conservative)
Tony Murphy (Labour)
Peter Timothy Clifford Reisdorf (Liberal Democrat)
Mark John Wilde (Green)

Leasowe and Moreton East

Debbie Caplin (Conservative)
Michael John Dixon (Green)
Mike Holt (Independent)
Sharon Jones (Labour)
David Robert Tyrrell (Liberal Democrats)


Susan Patricia Claire Arrowsmith (Liberal Democrat)
Margaret Ann Kalil (Conservative)
Perle Winifred Sheldricks (Green)
Janette Williamson (Labour)

Moreton West & Saughall Massie

Bruce Berry (Conservative)
Bill McGenity (Labour)
Helen Rosalinde O’Donnell (Green)

New Brighton

Adam Robert Keenan (Liberal Democrat)
William Keith Raybould (Conservatives)
Christine Spriggs (Labour)
Cynthia Stonall (Green)
Paula Walters (UK Independence Party)


Allan John Brame (Liberal Democrat)
Jeff Davies (Labour)
Moira Joan Gommon (Green)
Hilary Margaret Jones (Conservative)

Pensby & Thingwall

Allen John Burton (Green)
Kate Marianne Cannon (Labour)
Michael John Collins (Conservative)
Lucy Eva Johnson (Liberal Democrat)


Tom Bottom (Conservative)
Chris Cooke (Green)
Mark John Forshaw (Liberal Democrats)
Samantha Jane Peters Frost (Labour)

Rock Ferry

Sheena Joanne Hatton (Green)
Mark Hazlehurst (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)
Sue Hemmings (Conservative)
Moira McLaughlin (Labour)
Edward Smith (Liberal Democrat)


Adrian Edward Roland Jones (Labour)
Peter Dino Lageard (Green)
John Richard Laing (Conservatives)
Christopher Malcolm Teggin (Liberal Democrat)


Lily Clough (Green)
Alan Davies (Liberal Democrat)
John Murray (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)
Stuart Edward Whittingham (Labour)
Alison Jean Wright (Conservative)


James Anthony Brady (Green)
John Richard Codling (Liberal Democrat)
Paul John Martin (Labour)
Lesley Ann Rennie (Conservative)

West Kirby & Thurstaston

Jeff Green (Conservative)
James Stewart Laing (Labour)
Yvonne McGinley (Green)
Michael Graham Redfern (Liberal Democrat)

If you click on any of the buttons below, you’ll be doing me a favour by sharing this article with other people.

Author: John Brace

New media journalist from Birkenhead, England who writes about Wirral Council. Published and promoted by John Brace, 134 Boundary Road, Bidston, CH43 7PH. Printed by UK Webhosting Ltd t/a Tsohost, 113-114 Buckingham Avenue, Slough, Berkshire, England, SL1 4PF.